24 apply for associate judge position

Chief Judge Jay W. Ukena. /Photo: Courtesy 19th JCChief Judge Jay W. Ukena. /Photo: Courtesy 19th JC

By Pf Staff

Lake County, IL. – Chief Judge Jay W. Ukena has received notification from Marcia M. Meis, Director of the Administrative Office of Illinois Courts, that twenty-four attorneys have timely filed their applications for the Associate Judge vacancy in the Nineteenth Judicial Circuit. This vacancy is the result of the retirement of Associate Judge Margaret A. Marcouiller, effective December 14, 2018.
In the coming weeks, the applicants will be interviewed by the circuit judges and evaluated by members of the Lake County Bar Association’s Judicial Selection and Retention Committee. The Bar Association will also conduct a poll of its membership on all candidates’ qualifications.
The public will have the opportunity to comment in writing, which should be addressed to: The Office of the Chief Judge, Lake County Courthouse, 18 N. County Street, Waukegan, IL
These letters will be accepted until December 18, 2018. After the review R process is completed, the nominating committee of circuit judges will select the names of 2 candidates to be placed on a ballot. All circuit judges will receive individual ballots naming the finalists and they will submit their ballots to the Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts in Springfield. The ballots will be tallied by the Administrative Office and Chief Judge Ukena will receive the name of the candidate who received the majority of votes cast.
The applicants are sole practitioners: Robert O. Ackley of Round Lake, David J. Axelrod of
Highland Park, Nandia P. Black of Kildeer, Rhonda K. Bruno of Mundelein, Michael J. Conway
of Lake Villa, Roderick A. Drobinski of Wauconda, John L. Joanem of Wadsworth, Gretchen A. Neddenriep of Gurnee, and Charvis R. Walker of Antioch.

Other applicants include
Jeffrey A. Berman of Buffalo Grove, counsel at Anderson and Wanca; James C. Bertucci of Libertyville, partner at Bertucci & Bertucci; Patricia L. Cornell of Old Mill Creek, partner at Cornell Anderson LLC; Lisa L. Dunn of Deerfield, partner at Massucci, Blomquist, Anderson & Dunn; Joann M. Fratianni-Atsaves of Lake Forest, Chair of the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission; Deborah L. Goldberg of Highland Park, partner at Goldberg & Kane; Bolling W. Haxall, III of Barrington, Assistant United States Attorney; Christopher M. Kennedy of ibertyville, Office of the Special Deputy Receiver; Ryan P. Koehl of Waukegan, Assistant Lake County State’s Attorney; Kenneth W. LaRue of Waukegan, Assistant Lake County State’s Attorney; Daniel Naranjo of Barrington, Assistant Cook County Public Defender; James R.M. Newman of Lake Villa, Assistant Lake County State’s Attorney; Danielle M. Pascucci of Long Grove, Assistant Lake County State’s Attorney; Michael J. Perillo of Grayslake, partner at Noonan, Perillo & Thut; and Donald R. Tyer of Long Grove, Assistant Lake County State’s Attorney.